There has been many an issue with adding new owners and managers to existing Google Business Profiles. Some of these issues included:
- Removing a profile from the account, thereby deleting the profile.
- Hijacking a listing by removing owners and changing details.
- Holding a listing hostage.
This seems to now have a solution. When a manager/owner is added to a listing they must now wait 7 days before they can make any changes to the profile.
While this may seem punitive to new managers/owners, the benefit to merchants is very clear. Fewer headaches.
“Understand new owner & manager limitations
When a new owner or manager is added to an existing Business Profile, they must wait for 7 days before they can manage all the features of the profile. During this 7 day period, the new owner or manager gets an error if they try any of the following:
- Delete or undelete a profile.
- Remove other owners or managers from a profile.
- Transfer primary ownership of a profile to themselves or a third user.
- An existing owner or manager tries to transfer primary ownership of the profile to a new owner or manager still in their first 7 days.
If the new owner or manager deletes their account within the first 7 days, they’re removed from the profile. If they undelete their account, they must be added to the profile again.”